Too Heavy to Hug #638

Too Heavy to Hug #638

Welcome to THTH, Forte’s premier source of all things heavy, hard, fast and metal.

News of the fortnight is that the almighty, brutal, unbelievably wicked, Melbourne­ borne black/death/thrash metal Destroyer 666 have announced an Australian tour for this year!

Details below. No other metal news or gossip comes close to this, not even that pissy news about how someone claimed Slipknot had fill in musos for their tours but no one knew because the band members wear masks.

In other news

Kvelertak’s new album Nattesferd will be released on Friday May 13.

Katatonia will release their new album Fall Of Hearts on Friday May 20.

Motorhead’s last two shows in Munich on November 20 and 21, 2015, were recorded and will be available on Friday May 27. The live album entitled Clean Your Clock will be available in various formats.

Six Feet Under will release the fourth instalment of their Graveyard Classics series. This one is entitled The Number of the Priest and will feature five Judas Priest covers and six Iron Maiden covers. Out of Friday May 27.

Lacuna Coil will release their new album Delirium on Friday May 27. If you purchase Delirium on any format from JB Hi­ Fi before 11:59pm June 2, you’ll go in the running to win two tickets to meet and greet Lacuna Coil and have your copy of Delirium signed whilst they’re here touring Oz!

Spanish thrash metallers Angelus Apatrida will play Melbourne’s Bendigo Hotel on Saturday May 28.

Deafheaven will be at the Corner Hotel on Friday June 3.

Fear Factory will play the Prince Of Wales on Saturday June 4.

Brisbane band Chronolyth are touring the country to support their new album Atrophy and you can catch the guys at Ballarat’s Karova Lounge on Friday June 10 or a soon to be announced venue in Melbourne on Saturday June 11.

Death Dealer will play Melbourne’s Max Watts on Monday June 12.

Swervedriver will be at the Corner Hotel on Thursday June 23.

Whitechapel will release their new album Mark of the Blade on Friday June 24.

Karnivool will be at the Wool Exchange on Wednesday June 29.

Cog will play two Melbourne shows, one on Thursday 14 July at Melbourne’s Max Watts and one the next day at 170 Russell.

Drowning Pool will play Melbourne’s Max Watts on Saturday July 30.

Crytopsy with supports Whoretopsy and I, Valiance will be at the Northcote Social Club on Saturday September 8.

Immolation will play Melbourne’s Max Watts on Friday September 23.

Lacuna Coil have announced they’ll play Melbournes Max Watts on Thursday October 13.

Bullet For My Valentine, Atreyu and Cane Hill will be at 170 Russell on Tuesday October 25 which is sold out. A second show has just been announced and the trio of bands will also play 170 Russell on Monday October 24.

Destroyer 666 “is the anti­ christ” and will rip apart Melbourne’s Max Watts on Friday

November 11. The band have just announced their Australian Wildfire Tour 2016 so make sure you mark this in your calendars! PS: I really think the Australian Wildfire Tour

Two Thousand and Six Six Six Teen would have been a wicked cooler name but really, that’s just nitpicking, and this promises to be a show not to miss!

If you have any news about local metal bands, shows or albums, let THTH know by emailing to tooheavytohug@hotmail.com or get in touch via Twitter at @TooHeavyToHug

Written by Paul S Taylor

Recommended