The Rions announce huge Australian tour for September to November
Subscribe
X

Subscribe to Forte Magazine

11.08.2023

The Rions announce huge Australian tour for September to November

Credit: Maclay Heriot
Words by Staff Writer

The Rions today unveil their feverishly anticipated debut EP, Minivan.

Fresh off their signing with Sony Music Publishing, The Rions are back with their much-awaited debut EP, “Minivan.” The Eora/Sydney quartet marks the EP’s release with an exciting announcement of a national tour from September to November.

Looking to Victoria, you’ll be able to catch the band at the Torquay Hotel in Torquay, Corner Hotel in Melbourne, Pelly Bar in Frankston, The Gasometer Hotel in Melbourne and Volta in Ballarat.

The Rions Australian Tour Dates

Sat 26 Aug – The Station – Ngarigo Land / Jindabyne
Fri 29 Sep – Dee Why RSL – Dharug Land / Dee Why
Sat 30 Sep – King St Bandroom – Awabakal Land / Newcastle
Fri 6 Oct – Torquay Hotel – Wadawurrung Land / Torquay
Sat 7 Oct – Grapevine Gathering – Wurundjeri Land / Coldstream
Sat 8 Oct – Grapevine Gathering – Noonucal, Gorenpul, Nughi Land / Mount Cotton
Sat 14 Oct – Grapevine Gathering – Whadjuk Land / Caversham
Sat 14 – Sun 15 Oct – Yours & Owls – Dharawal Land / Wollongong
Fri 20 Oct – Drifter’s Wharf – Darkinjung Land / Gosford
Sat 21 Oct – Grapevine Gathering – Wonnarua Land / Pokolbin
Sun 22 Oct – Grapevine Gathering – Kaurna Land / McLaren Vale
Fri 27 Oct – Corner Hotel – Naarm / Melbourne
Sat 28 Oct – Pelly Bar – Bunurong Land / Frankston
Sun 29 Oct – The Gasometer Hotel – Naarm / Melbourne (AA)
Fri 3 Nov – Lion Arts Factory – tarntanya / Adelaide (LIC/AA)
Sat 4 Nov – Jack Rabbit Slims – Boorloo / Perth
Thu 9 Nov – Solbar – Kabi Kabi Land / Maroochydore
Fri 10 Nov – The Northern – Arakwal Land / Byron Bay
Sat 11 Nov – Burleigh Bazaar – Kombumerri Land / Burleigh Heads
Sat 18 Nov – The Zoo – Meanjin / Brisbane
Sun 19 Nov – Mary’s Underground – Eora / Sydney (LIC/AA)
Fri 24 Nov – Oxford Art Factory – Eora / Sydney
Sat 25 Nov – Volta – Wadawurrung, Dja Dja Wurrung Land / Ballarat
Sun 26 Nov – Republic Bar – nipaluna / Hobart

Keep up with the latest music news, festivals, interviews and reviews here.

Produced and recorded in collaboration with Chris Collins (known for his work with Matt Corby, Skegss, and Middle Kids), “Minivan” captures The Rions’ attempt to navigate the chaos around them in real-time. The EP delves into a range of emotions from self-reflection during times of crisis to the exploration of heartbreak. The EP’s lead single, “Take What You Want,” stands as a powerful anthem of heartbreak-induced change.

The Rions express their excitement for the EP’s release, stating, “We’ve been looking forward to this day for a couple of years now. An EP is something we’ve been wanting to create for a very long time, and to finally reveal it to everyone is a huge deal for us. We hope that the story of Minivan (EP) resonates with our fans the way it does with us.”

“Minivan” showcases a coming-of-age journey, exploring themes of self-discovery, grief, and heartbreak. The EP digs deeper into The Rions’ experiences compared to their earlier works like ‘Sadie’ and ‘Dissociation’. New tracks like ‘Talking To Walls,’ ‘Got My Hopes Up,’ and ‘Take What You Want’ capture the essence of youth grappling with the transition to adulthood.

With their recent releases ‘Scary Movies’ and the title-track ‘Minivan’ receiving widespread acclaim, The Rions have secured a strong foothold in the music scene. Their back-to-back Hottest 100 entries and tours supporting Lime Cordiale, Boy & Bear, and Pacific Avenue have further solidified their presence. The Rions are set to appear at Grapevine The Gathering, Yours & Owls, and more.

General on-sale tickets will go live on Monday, 14 August at 10 AM AEST here.