Music Victoria reveal industry-voted nominees for 2022 awards

Subscribe to Forte Magazine


Music Victoria reveal industry-voted nominees for 2022 awards

Credit: Martin Philbey

Mo’Ju, Confidence Man, Alice Ivy, Evelyn Ida Morris & King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard lead this year’s stacked nominations list.

Having announced its triumphant return for 2022 earlier in the year, Music Victoria have now officially lifted the veil on the list of industry-voted nominees that will vye for awards at this year’s ceremony, as Victoria once again comes together to celebrate another massive year of artistry.

Hand-selected over the past six months, the 2022 award entries have been whittled down by a team of more than 200 acclaimed music judges, from across Australian radio.

Leading the industry nominations list for 2022 is internationally acclaimed act Confidence Man who will be going up against strong competition for Best Pop Work at the December awards ceremony, King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard and Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever (both vying for the top spot in the Best Rock/Punk Work category), while prolific artist Mo’Ju has been nominated for Best Soul, Funk, RNB Gospel Work alongside Kutcha Edwards, Lance Ferguson, Nikodimos and Zretro.

Keep up with the latest music news, festivals, interviews and reviews here.

In 2022, the Archie Roach Foundation Award for Emerging Talent, plays an especially important role in this year’s award ceremony following the sad passing of the Victorian icon. Nominees include a standout list of emerging First Nations talent from across the state, with nominations for Bumpy, Carissa Nyalu, Jess Hitchcock, MpathSoul – Monica Jasmine Karo and Pirritu.

The nominees for 2022:

The Archie Roach Foundation Award for Emerging Talent

  • Bumpy
  • Carissa Nyalu
  • Jess Hitchcock
  • MpathSoul – Monica Jasmine Karo
  • Pirritu

Arts Access Amplify Award

  • Batts
  • Between Mirrors
  • Evelyn Ida Morris
  • Nat Bartsch
  • Saint Ergo

MAV Diasporas Award

  • Ajak Kwai
  • Black Jesus eXperience
  • Charles Maimarosia
  • Hand to Earth
  • Vanessa Estrada

Best Blues Work

  • Checkerboard Lounge
  • Damon Smith
  • High Ace
  • The Black Sorrows
  • The McNamarr Project

Best Country Work

  • Georgia State Line
  • Lachlan Bryan and The Wildes
  • Michael Waugh
  • Sherry Rich
  • The Weeping Willows

Best Electronic Work

  • Harvey Sutherland
  • OK EG
  • Papaphilia
  • Puscha
  • Various Asses

Best Experimental or Avant-Garde Work

  • Cat Hope
  • Female Wizard
  • Nina Buchanan
  • Rama Parwata
  • The Amplified Elephants

Best Folk Work

  • Above The Bit
  • Austral
  • Charm of Finches
  • Kerryn Fields
  • Ruby Gill

Best Heavy Work

  • Diploid
  • ISUA
  • Jalang
  • Outright
  • Rinuwat

Best Hip Hop Work

  • Jaal
  • Nomad
  • MAMMOTH. & Silentjay
  • SO.Crates
  • Yung Shōgun

Best Jazz Work

  • Barney McAll
  • Claire Cross
  • Johannes Luebbers Dectet
  • Peter Knight
  • Sam Anning

Best Pop Work

  • Confidence Man
  • June Jones
  • Mug
  • Telenova
  • The Stroppies

Best Reggae and Dancehall Work

  • Jah Tung
  • JahWise
  • Nicky Bomba
  • Shottaz

Best Rock/Punk Work

  • Dr Sure’s Unusual Practice
  • Pinch Points
  • Jaala
  • King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard
  • Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever

Soul, Funk, RNB & Gospel Work

  • Kutcha Edwards
  • Lance Ferguson
  • Mo’Ju
  • Nikodimos
  • Zretro

Best Producer

  • Alice Ivy
  • Gab Strum
  • Oscar Dawson
  • Stuart Mackenzie
  • Tim Shiel

Find out more by heading here.