Interim: Escapism

Subscribe to Forte Magazine

Interim: Escapism

Escapism is the debut album for Sydney-based five piece, Interim, and they’re bringing it to you live with a bunch of show dates around Aus.

There’s some big names behind the production, the future beams bright for the lads; Alec Snow (vocals), James Basnett (guitar), Jock Houston (bass/ vocals), Matt Hollonds (drums/vocals) and Lachlan Becke (guitar).

Escapism is scuzzy grunge through to stomping blues throwdowns. A flowy ticket to electric guitar solos, harmonica and pure rock drums. It’s a blend of whistle-along emotive ballads and electric guitar solos, with vocals reminiscent of Black Keys Dan Auerbach or Xavier Rudd.

The album covers themes of desire and escapism, “and when desire becomes more of a vice,” Houston explains. Produced by Yanto Browning (The Belligerents and The Jungle Giants) and recorded at Powderfinger legend Ian Haug’s studio. The band were treated to the use of Haug’s instruments and effects, with the souls of the Finger heard howling through.

Be sure to sample film clip ‘Daytripper’, a psychedelic Sgt. Pepper’s-ish, fly-eye beauty. With beach party drone shots and trippy mirrored-screen action. Play Escapism at your next solo moment – smashing a gym workout, driving a highway long haul, or just head bangin’ your way around the house processing some of life’s shit.

Reviewed by Heidi Atkins