Ed Kuepper is bringing ‘The Exploding Universe of Ed Kuepper’ live show to Queenscliff

Subscribe to Forte Magazine


Ed Kuepper is bringing ‘The Exploding Universe of Ed Kuepper’ live show to Queenscliff

The Exploding Universe of Ed Kuepper is the first live band experience of Ed Kuepper’s solo material since 2009.

Fresh from releasing reissues of classic albums Electrical Storm and Honey Steel’s Gold, the legendary Ed Kuepper has announced a full band tour. Dubbed The Exploding Universe of Ed Kuepper, this will be the first live band experience of Ed Kuepper’s solo material since 2009.

Featuring Ed’s legendary sparring partner Mark Dawson on drums, Sunnyboys bassist Peter Oxley plus celebrated pianist Alister Spence and brass maestro Eamon Dilworth, The Exploding Universe will tackle the best of Kuepper’s brand new vinyl reissues Electrical Storm and the classic Honey Steel’s Gold this September.

Locally, you’ll be able to witness the magic at the Queenscliff Town Hall on 8 September 2023.

The Exploding Universe of Ed Kuepper

  • Fri September 1st: Wyong, Arthouse
  • Sat September 2nd: Blue Mountains Theatre
  • Wed September 6th: Melbourne, National Theatre
  • Fri September 8th: Queenscliff Town Hall
  • Sat September 9th: Meeniyan Town Hall
  • Wed September 13th: Fremantle, Freo Social
  • Fri September 15th: Adelaide, The Gov
  • Sat September 16th: Hobart, Theatre Royal
  • Wed September 20th: Canberra, The Street Theatre
  • Thu September 21st: Sydney, City Recital Hall
  • Thu September 28th: Brisbane, Princess Theatre
  • Fri September 29: Gold Coast, Twin Towns
  • Sat September 30: Sunshine Coast, Imperial Hotel

Keep up with the latest music news, festivals, interviews and reviews here.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Ed Kuepper (@edkuepper)

The reissues are the result of a deal Kuepper has struck with Melbourne based Remote Control records who have licensed the rights to all his post-Saints catalogue; Laughing Clowns, The Aints, 15 + studio solo albums and more which will see a select run of limited-edition vinyl plus Kuepper’s long overdue catalogue addition to the digital realm.

“Friends, as you know, I’ve been full of happy announcements recently but announcing the shows I’ll be doing with this bunch of nifty musical dudes is one of my happiest,” Kuepper shares.

“We’re going to be delving [as they say in rehearsals] into both the Honey Steel’s Gold and Electrical Storm albums, including some of the deeper cuts hardly heard since back in the day. We’re also going to be hammering thru a fine selection of the many chart topping hits that have become associated with me.”

Electrical Storm of course, was Kuepper’s first solo outing having spent the previous ten years spearheading two of Australia’s most pioneering and productive bands; The Saints and Laughing Clowns.

But with success largely eluding both those outfits Kuepper was resigned to retirement. Recently married though, and on his honeymoon he took an acoustic guitar and surprised even himself writing an album’s worth of material including some of his most enduring tracks Electrical Storm, Car Headlights and Master Of Twin Servants.

It was the beginning of a whole new phase for Kuepper that saw him become a leading drawcard across Australia’s burgeoning pub-scene of the 1980s and taking him ultimately to 1992’s ARIA-award winning Honey Steel’s Gold, an album that peaked at no.28 on the mainstream charts and which features his most well-known solo tracks Everything I’ve Got (Belongs to You) and The Way I Made You Feel. In 2010 Honey Steel’s Gold was even listed at no.50 in the book 100 Best Australian Albums joining an earlier work (I’m) Stranded by The Saints.

Tickets can be purchased here