C.O.F.F.I.N unleashes a savage sonic assault with ‘Australia Stops’, a raw and relentless rock odyssey

Subscribe to Forte Magazine


C.O.F.F.I.N unleashes a savage sonic assault with ‘Australia Stops’, a raw and relentless rock odyssey

Photo credit: Jacob McCann
Words by Alex Callan

Recorded at The Pet Food Factory studio with producer Jason Whalley (Frenzal Rhomb), 'Australia Stops' is a record that showcases a collection of diverse and gripping new works that highlight the band's evolution into more melodious, 1970's Australiana and boogie rock and roll.

I learnt two things from C.O.F.F.I.N’s third album. The first is that, if they wanted to, C.O.F.F.I.N could beat the living daylights out of me. The second is that as a group, C.O.F.F.I.N upholds the rights that the Beastie Boys fought for. 

Keep up with the latest music news, festivals, interviews and reviews here.

Their third release, Australia Stops, resembles the bloke at the bar who parties outrageously and is genuinely in good spirits– but could throw down at any second. It’s brazenly tough rock n’ roll that doesn’t care about polishing the edges. Think elements of early Tumbleweed, The Meanies and Cosmic Psychos loaded with more of a primitive edge.    

Led by the distinctive thump and growl of drummer and vocalist Ben Portnoy, Australia Stops wastes no time in laying in its hits. ‘Give Me A Bite’ brings the energy early for ‘Cut You Off’ to lay cataclysmic grunts of high-octane punk rock riffage. ‘Keep It Dark’ powerfully adds undertones of a heavy, drilling tension through its use of jagged staccato riffs and filthy solos. 

‘Lover’s Leash’ channels Motörstyle-esque punk simplicity alongside Portnoy’s perfectly imperfect gruffed vocals. Then to shake things up a bit, ‘Beasts’ pairs militantly orchestrated snare patterns and sleazy guitar licks alongside frenzied drawls of harmonica that kick into heaving breakdowns. 

It really is a non-stop thrill ride that helps to elevate C.O.F.F.I.N as more than just one of the crowd. 

Label: Damaged Records   

Release date: 15 September