Applications now open for 2019 APRA Professional Development Awards

Subscribe to Forte Magazine

Applications now open for 2019 APRA Professional Development Awards

APRA AMCOS is proud to announce the return of the biennial APRA Professional Development Awards, a career-boosting initiative which has helped further the musical success stories of Gotye, Fanny Lumsden, screen composer Caitlin Yeo, Morgan Evans, Ainslie Wills, Nick Drabble, Ngaiire, Briggs and many more.

Held every two years, the APRA Professional Development Awards aim to create serious opportunities for emerging songwriters and composers. In 2019, the awards prize pool continues to grow, offering nine individual winners $15,000 each to propel their career, plus Audio-Technica M50x Studio Headphones Limited Edition Red and an ‘Aon Wallet’ insurance package including Public Liability, Equipment and Personal Accident cover valued at $3,000 over 3 years.

Applications are now open to emerging songwriters and composers across the following categories:
Popular Contemporary (three awards are given in this category which covers pop, rock, blues, folk, hip hop and R&B)
Art Music
Film and Television
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander

APRA AMCOS is also pleased to announce that the Smugglers of Light initiative will return in 2019 with an award providing a promising Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander music or media practitioner with a grant of $12,000. The Smugglers of Light Foundation has been set up in memory of Eli Westlake aged 21, who was tragically killed in Sydney in 2008.

The APRA Professional Development Awards judging panel for 2019 includes Katie Wighton & Georgia Mooney (All Our Exes Live in Texas), Jenny Morris, Lior, Brooke McClymont, Dom Alessio (Sounds Australia), Jeremy Rose, Iain Grandage, Cat Hope, Caitlin Yeo, Jay Stewart, Leah Flanagan, Coco Eke (Bad Apples), Dan Zilber (Future Classic), and many more.

Applications for the Professional Development Awards close on Thursday 27 June, 2019.

Applications for the Smugglers of Light Foundation Music and Media Award close Friday 21 June, 2019

For more information and to apply, visit